The First Board Meeting of the LEAP

01 February 2017

The Mayor of London today chaired the first meeting of the new administration for the Local Enterprise Partnership for London (LEAP).

LEAP works in partnership with the Mayor of London to help deliver economic growth and regeneration to underdeveloped areas of London.

LEAP is responsible for the distribution of £600m from the European Structural and Investment Funds into skills, employment and enterprise initiatives across the Capital.

The newly appointed LEAP Board will oversee the strategic growth of the Royal Docks Enterprise Zone which could potentially deliver up to 40,000 jobs and 4,000 new homes in Newham, East London.

The Mayor of London, Sadiq Khan, said: “Today, I’m chairing the first meeting of the London Economic Action Partnership (LEAP).  This signals an ambitious new approach to support and lead economic growth over the years ahead – and, crucially, to ensure that the opportunities we create are open to all Londoners.

“With strong representation from across the business community and local government, I believe this group will be a formidable and creative advocate for economic development.”

The 16 member LEAP Board was appointed in December after an open recruitment process and includes The Mayor of London and Deputy Mayor for Business, Rajesh Agrawal as Deputy Co–Chair.

The LEAP Board is now 50 per cent female with eight of its members bringing members bringing to the organisation a range of expertise in economic development as well as genuine experience covering sectors from innovative tech start-ups to high street retail; commercial land owners and creative industry.

The 16 newly appointed board members are:

o   Sadiq Khan, Mayor of London (Chair)

o   Rajesh Agrawal, Deputy Mayor for Business (Deputy Co-Chair)

o   Jules Pipe CBE, Deputy Mayor for Planning, Regeneration and Skills

o   Sir Robin Wales, Mayor of Newham

o   Cllr Claire Kober OBE, Chair of London Councils and Leader of LB Haringey

o   Cllr Peter John OBE, Deputy Chair of London Councils and Leader of LB Southwark

o   Cllr Teresa O’Neill OBE, Vice-Chair of London Councils and Leader of LB Bexley

o   Megan Dobney, Regional Secretary for South East Region TUC

o   Natalie Campbell, business representative

o   Dr Celia Caulcott, business representative

o   Professor Greg Clark CBE, business representative

o   Alexandra Depledge MBE, business representative

o   Angus Knowles-Cutler, business representative

o   John Newbigin OBE, business representative

o   Colette O’Shea, business representative

o Simon Pitkeathley, business representative